P U R S U I T

Galatians, Ephesians, 1&2 Timothy, and James are some of my favorite books of the Bible. They are convicting, easy to understand, and to-the-point. Take this verse for example.

“But as for you, O man of God, flee [evil] things. Pursue righteousness, godliness, faith, love, steadfastness, gentleness.” {1 Timothy 6:11}

This is such a crystal clear verse, yet so powerful. It drives me to ask myself the question: what am I pursuing?

Money? Friends? Fame? A boyfriend? Laziness?

The real question is however, not “what am I pursuing?” but rather “who am I pursuing?”. When we choose to pursue Jesus, we are also pursuing righteousness, godliness, love, faith, steadfastness and gentleness. Because Jesus IS all those things.

Which is more rewarding? Pursuing Jesus or our own pleasures?

It depends on whether we’re talking short term or long term. The short term benefits to pursuing our own fleshly desires are nice, but they give us temporary happiness. Pursuing Jesus not only makes us joyful short term, but it also gives us fulfillment and strength that lasts forever.

Pursuing Jesus is not always easy, challenges will come your way. But with Jesus nothing is impossible. I’ve discovered that I’m thankful for the challenges that God allows in my life. I always learn valuable lessons through them, and I grow to love my Savior even more. It’s always worth it.

Will you join me in the pursuit of Jesus?

Comment!

