L E S S O N S – F R O M – L U K E

9b06d8d30b8f0ed733218345fae3215f

Here’s another post from my former blog, On My Toes…I’m hoping to do a “follow-up” post on this topic soon, so I thought it was a good idea to have it on In Pursuit so you could have background info. Anyway, enjoy. 😉


You never know how a simple question may impact someone. I discovered the truth of this sentence last night, thanks to my six-year-old brother, Luke.

A sweet woman my mom became acquainted with shared a interesting idea with her. She said that whenever their family goes out to eat, they always say to their server: “We are just about to pray for our food. Is there anything we can pray for you?” She added that most of the time, the person’s response is awesome.

Excited to use this practical way of living like Jesus, our family tried it a couple of weeks ago. The response from Hunter was disappointing as he said he didn’t have any prayer requests, although he was very grateful that we asked. We left Texas Roadhouse discouraged.

But six-year-olds don’t give up quickly. So last night at dinner, Luke told my mom that he wanted to ask our waitress if we could pray for her. I admit I wasn’t crazy about the idea, because I didn’t want to be embarrassed. I could tell he was struggling between what his flesh told him and what God told him. But he summed up his courage and asked her.

The combination of his young voice, cute face, and genuine question, hit home. Immediately our waitress had tears streaming down her face. She opened her note pad and showed us a picture of her son, AJ, in an Air Force uniform. She explained that she was missing him very much, and hoping he would eventually come home to her.

Once she thanked us more than once and left to attend to other customers, Luke led us in prayer for AJ. Luke smiled, knowing that he had done the right thing and blessed someone. But his smile just grew bigger when the waitress returned with a small ice cream sundae for her “little buddy”, as she called him.

Here’s what I’d like you to take from this post. First, the smallest act of kindness can have amazing results. Second, if you feel God asking you to do something, there is always a valid reason, even if you don’t get to see it right away.

Would you please keep AJ in your prayers? And would you consider asking your next waiter or waitress if they need prayer? You may not get an ice cream sundae, but you will have the opportunity to bless someone with prayer. Let me tell you, it feels so good to pray for someone like that. Let us know in the comment section if you’ve had a similar experience, or if you plan to start a new habit of asking people how you can pray for them. 🙂


By the way, if you have a prayer request, please don’t hesitate to visit the In Pursuit Prayer page! I’d be so honored to pray for you!

4 thoughts on “L E S S O N S – F R O M – L U K E

  1. Delyn Merce says:

    This is FABULOUS!!! I’m so glad you visited my blog so that I knew to jump over here 🙂 And you’re even in the right city–my dearest cousin lives outside of Houston, in Cypress. We don’t get to see each other, as I live in the Pac NW, but we talk on the phone a lot–laughing, sharing about God’s love, just jabbering.

    I think this is a wonderful Jesus-act, to inquire if someone would like prayer; and I agree that when we feel God/Holy Spirit’s nudge to do/say something, it’s good to move on it–not over-think it. Today I was in the grocery store and a man in a wheelchair was ahead of me–I knew he was a veteran as his motorized chair sported a US flag, and he wore a cap with “Navy Seal” on it. He was headed out the door, and I was right behind him to thank him for his service. It’s not a huge thing, but it’s “something”–we never know how much impact we’ll have when we obey in the “small things”. God bless you!

    Like

Your Turn!

