m i r r o r.

I want my life to be a mirror.

Mirror : a reflective surface that reflects a clear image.

I don’t want my life to be ordinary. I don’t want my life to be all about me.  I want my life to be a mirror.

I want my life to reflect Jesus’ everlasting goodness. His beautiful salvation. His surpassing mercy. His unquenchable joy. His constant presence. His breathtaking power. His life-changing love. When people look at me, I want them to see Jesus.

But here’s the thing. A mirror only reflects what it is pointed at. 

If I point my mirror at the world, it will reflect the world. If I point it at social media, it will reflect social media. If I point it at success, it will reflect success. If I point it at my relationship status, it will reflect my relationship status. If I point it at my appearance, it will reflect my appearance.

If I point my mirror of a life at anything but Jesus, it is not going to satisfy.

It may satisfy in the moment. It may be momentarily satisfying to see my social media likes. It may be momentarily satisfying to get my relationship status from “single”. It may be momentarily satisfying to see myself as attractive. It may be momentarily satisfying to get the approval of people. But…it is only momentary.

The likes, outward appearance, approval, and even relationships will fade away. One relationship, however, will never ever fade away.

If my mirror of a life is pointed at Jesus…if it is steadfastly, diligently, passionately seeking Jesus…then my life is reflecting a clear image of my Creator, Savior, Father, Friend and King. And I have found real life.

Now sometimes the mirror will get foggy, just as our sin-prone lives do. We fall, we mess up. Sometimes we even lose focus on the One we seek to reflect. But Jesus is always right in front of us. One hand is held out to lovingly lead you closer to Him. The other holds Windex and a paper towel, ready to wipe the mirror clean of fog and dirt.

But we all, with unveiled face, beholding as in a mirror the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same image from glory to glory, just as by the Spirit of the Lord.” -2 Corinthians 3:18

3 thoughts on “m i r r o r.

  1. Olivia says:

    This is a great post! I’ve been thinking a lot along these lines recently, so thank you for putting it so nicely into words! It’s really encouraging. 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: the future…

Comment!

