H U N T I N G

Here is a post which I publish two years ago on a previous blogHappy Easter!


Recently the Christian radio station in our area announced that they had a list of egg hunts going on locally. Egg hunts are a major part of Easter, and unfortunately as I grow older, I find myself hiding eggs, more than finding them.

It made me think about my relationship with Jesus. Yes, I teach a class of preschoolers at our church, help them learn bible verses and answer questions about God’s Word, but what about my own life? Am I hiding “eggs”, but neglecting to hunt for them? 

Of course pouring into the lives of those preschoolers is important, but growing in my relationship with the Father is even more important. How can I teach those younger than me about Jesus, without being in a deep friendship with Him myself? If we pretend for a moment that bible verses, knowledge about God, and friendship with God are eggs. Even as we hide these eggs for younger generations, we should be hunting for them ourselves.

So how do we “hunt for Jesus”? Let’s look at a few examples from the Word of God.

“For since our friendship with God was restored by the death of His Son, while we were still His enemies, we will certainly be saved through the life of His Son.” -Romans 5:10

1. We are already friends with God if we have accepted Jesus as our Savior. If you believe that Jesus lived a perfect life, died for your sins, and rose again, you already are in friendship with God. But believing that Jesus is real won’t help our relationship with Him, unless we live our lives for Him. Before we go any deeper into this friendship we must understand this.

“You will seek me and you will find me, when you seek me with all your heart.” -Jeremiah 29:13

2. If we seek God we will find Him. God doesn’t say: “If you are perfect, and you seek me, then maybe you will find me.” No, He clearly says: “Seek me, (enter your name here), with all your heart. And you will find me.” To find out what “seeking God” is, and read some ideas on how to seek God, click here.

“His (God’s) purpose was for the nations to seek after God, and perhaps feel their way toward Him, and find Him-though He is not far from any of us.” -Acts 17:27

3. God’s purpose is for us to seek Him, and He is not hard to find. God desires to have an extraordinary relationship with you! His purpose is for YOU to seek, and ultimately find Him. The second part of this verse echos point 2, that if we seek God, we will find Him, for He is not far from us.

“Taste and see that the Lord is good.” -Psalm 34:8

4. Hunting for Jesus leaves a sweet taste in your soul. After hunting for eggs (and finding them) what is the first thing you would do? Eat the candy!! After finding Jesus and encouragement from the bible, you should fill your soul with the Bread of Life-Jesus. I promise you will not regret it.

This Easter, hunt for Jesus like you never have before-Seek Him, search for Him, find Him, let your spirit devour all the amazing things you learn from Him. When you hear from God like never before, or just want to share what He is teaching you, “hop” back on the blog and share it with us in a comment. It will encourage others to desire Him as well.

Happy Resurrection Day!

Comment!

