the finish line

image1

It’s the final countdown. The home stretch. Summer is almost here.

I am so thankful. Thankful that the school year is gone, but also thankful that it came in the first place. I learned a lot this year. I got through algebra with an A (that’s a first), thanks to my math teacher. I learned how to really study biology (during the last semester), and was blessed by a teacher who genuinely cares for each and every one of her students. I learned some Spanish, discovered my love for taking pretty and colorful notes, and felt accomplished by turning in homework (even if I did have to work at night and on the weekend). I read some intriguing books, and explored six of the world’s major worldviews/religions from a Christian perspective.

But the school year is not over yet. Two more weeks. Finals. (Ugh.)

My best friend and I were wondering if quitting now would change our final grades. We’re so close, what would it matter? Of course, we would never actually do this, but we found it fun to entertain the idea.

If we quit now, we wouldn’t be able to finish. There is a big difference between quitting and finishing.

  • finish: bring to an end; complete
  • quit: to give up, leave or depart 

Not only is there a difference to google, but also in the Bible. In fact, Jesus used the word “finished” right before He died on the cross.

“When Jesus had received the sour wine, he said, “It is finished,” and he bowed his head and gave up his spirit.” -John 19:30

Can you imagine if Jesus would have quit before finishing?

He easily could have.

But His love for you was too great. He had to finish the job.

Our God is a God who finishes the work He starts, keeps His promises, and never gives up on us. 

In 2 Timothy, Paul writes:

“I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.” -2 Timothy 4:7

Yes, he finished the race, but I guarantee you he didn’t do it in his own strength.

I’ve never run in a race before (to me running = torture), but I know for a fact that the end of the race is much harder than the beginning.

Starting a race is one thing, finishing a race is another thing. 

Although I’m not running a physical race right now, I’m about to finish an academic race that I started running in late August. Perhaps some of you are running beside me.

You can see the finish line ahead, but you aren’t sure you can make it on your own. And if you thought that, you thought right. You can’t make it on your own. But the good news is there is Someone who can help you.

There is Someone running beside you handing you a Gatorade (or whatever running people drink). Not only is He giving you the strength to finish, but He’s also giving you the encouragement you need. All you have to do is ask.

You are so close! You’ve got this! It’s the final countdown..ba na na na…

One thought on “the finish line

  1. Maddie says:

    Thank you so much for writing this! Very relatable and encouraging right now, as I am in the throes of finishing my semester year of college and it’s definitely very stressful. I’ve been thinking of quitting a lot too… but the finish line is so close, and God gives the strength to keep on until the end! Hope finals go well for you!
    -Maddie

    Liked by 1 person

Comment!

