Into The New Year…

Wow, 2017 went by so quickly. I feel like it was just a few weeks ago that I was saying goodbye to 2016.

I’m a very sentimental person, even if I don’t always show it. Stepping into a new year gives me a kind of sappy feeling that I can’t describe. Think about it guys…there will never ever be another 2017.

And there will never ever be another 2018. Let’s make the most of it, shall we?

I wanted to take a few minutes and share some plans/resolutions I have for 2018.

First of all, I want to dedicate this year to Jesus.

I feel like I’ve been a little sluggish in my faith this past year. In fact I was recently listening to “Enough” by Branan Murphy. The lyrics pretty much match my feelings:

Reminiscing, missing how you captivate me

Lately I’ve been wondering if I can make it

Moving on seems easy when the feelings fade

I’m so caught up trying to catch my own thing

When did you stop being enough for me?

I miss my consuming love for God. I want that passion back. But actually getting it back requires denying my own desires, which I’m not always willing to do.

I want to give God everything I’ve got in 2018. Thoughts. Actions. Passions. Dreams. Goals. Responsibilities. Everything. All of the above. My whole entire heart. My whole entire life.

But how exactly? I mean, that’s great to say, but what’s the point unless I really do it?

Here are five ways that I thought of…if you have some please share them in the comment section!


  1. Give God the glory in everything that you do. 

“Now to him who is able to do far more abundantly than all that we ask or think, according to the power at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, forever and ever. Amen.” -Ephesians 3:20-21

Practical Way: Don’t be afraid to talk about Jesus. Give Him the glory aloud when you get that A or make that goal.


 2. Praise God for who He is. 

“Bless the LORD, O my soul, and all that is within me, bless his holy name!” -Psalm 103:1

Practical Way: Keep a list of all the attributes you discover about God, through Bible reading, prayer, and experiences, this year.


3. Pray & Seek God daily.  

“Teach me your way, O LORD, that I may walk in your truth; unite my heart to fear your name.” -Psalm 86:11

Practical Way: Make it a priority to spend time in the Bible and pray at least once if not more times per day. Put Bible verses up in your room/bathroom to bring your mind back to Christ throughout the day.


4. Keep your mind on your First Love. 

“For your Maker is your husband, the LORD of hosts is his name; and the Holy One of Israel is your Redeemer, the God of the whole earth he is called.” -Isaiah 54:5

Practical Way: Write the word “Yours” on your wrist to remind you that you are Christ’s. Pray for your future spouse, but continue to keep your eyes on Christ and pursue Him.


5. Be more selfless and less selfish. 

“Do nothing from selfish ambition or conceit, but in humility count others more significant than yourselves. Let each of you look not only to his own interests, but also to the interests of others.” -Philippians 2:3-4

Practical Way: Instead of immediately saying “no” when someone asks you to do something, stop and seriously consider saying yes, even if it hinders you from doing something you want to do.


Now, I already know that I’m going to mess up. Next year at this time I will have made plenty of mistakes, but I pray that I’ve brought them to God and repented. You’re not perfect, I’m not perfect, but Christ is. Let’s hide in Him this year.

God, here’s my year. Take it, use it for your glory.

Happy New Year! 😀

4 thoughts on “Into The New Year…

  1. Hi Grace! What a beautiful goal you have for next year! Thank you for sharing. All of your points are great but the first one really speaks to me. May God bless your new year abundantly!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m happy to see someone else thinks that 2017 flew by at the speed of lightning! 😉 All joking aside, I feel exactly the same way about my relationship with God this year: It’s draining, and I want to get back to longing for Him. I’m excited about being overwhelmed by His love this year again as I refocus on how amazing our God is (and I just wrote “yours” on my wrist!). Thank you for sharing your thoughts. Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m super sentimental too so I know what it’s like (you can see my sentimentalism firsthand in the New Years post I made on my blog). I love this post and how you laid it out. Each point wasn’t too wordy, and it was awesome how you gave a practical way to live out each point. #5 especially stood out to me. Thank you for sharing this (:

    Liked by 1 person

Share Your Pursuit: